Show currently has two types of campaign payments:
Pay-per-view campaigns (aka CPM) #
In this type of campaign, for each ad Show displayed in your stream, we multiply the payment per viewer by the number of live viewers at the time the ad was displayed.
Notice that the number presented in our platform is an industry-standard: pay per 1,000 views (CPM).
For example, if your stream had 50 live viewers1,2 at the time the ad was displayed, and the ad’s CPM was $40, the calculation would be:
($40/1,000)*50=$2 for that specific ad display.
Show will do the same for all the ads displayed throughout your stream, sum them up, and add them to your wallet.
Commission campaigns (aka CPA/CPC) #
With commission-based campaigns, you get paid for each action (or goal) your viewers1 have made. An action can be a click on the ad link, a registration, a download, etc.
You’ll see the goal description in the ad card on the opportunities page.
In the dashboard, you’ll see how many clicks and conversions happened in each stream.
1 If a campaign targets a specific country (or a list of countries), we will only count viewers/actions from that country (or country list).
Example: You have 90 live viewers, 80 viewers from the USA and 10 from Canada, and an ad targeted just for the USA pops up, then we will count 80 viewers.
2 Most campaigns have a “frequency cap”, i.e., Show will stop counting a specific viewer after watching the same ad more than X times (usually 5 times) for a certain period (usually a month).
Example: You may have 100 live viewers on your stream, but 10 of them have already viewed the ad 5 times (on your stream or someone else’s stream) during the last 30 days, then we will count 90 viewers.